Hapa 

Emma is half Korean and half Mexican, a halfie, a hapa, a mixed baby. Before she was born, all I wanted was for her to be healthy and have double eyelids. I know to most mothers, eyes were their least concern but to me, as an Asian American, I wanted to make sure she didn’t have small eyes like me. Growing up I was teased a lot for having small eyes. And as a concerned mother, I didn’t want that for my child. Lucky for me, she was born with double eyelids and everyday gets more enhanced. She is a perfect blend of my husband and I. 

As both Korean and Mexican, we want her to be trilingual and be able to utilize those languages as she grows older. My side of the family talks to her in Korean and my husband’s side talks to her in Spanish, so it should be interesting to see what she picks up growing up. Being fluent in different languages is very important now a days and to be able to be fluent in three languages will give her a big advantage as an adult. I want Emma to be proud of her heritage and be thankful to have two families who can teach her experiences and stories, things she won’t learn in textbooks. 

Leave a Reply

